Get A Quote Now!

Regional Relocation Grant

The Regional Relocation (Home Buyers Grant) Act 2011 will operate for four years, commencing 1 July 2011. The scheme will provide applicants with a one-off payment of $7,000 to assist them with the cost of relocating from their metropolitan home to a regional home.

The NSW Government has announced that the Grant has been extended to apply to applicants buying vacant land valued up to $450 000, provided the applicant commences building within 6 months and occupation of the home within 12 months of completion of the land purchase. This applies to purchases from 1 July 2011.

The metropolitan area means the local government areas of the Sydney metropolitan area, Blue Mountains, Hawkesbury, Gosford, Wyong, Wollondilly, Wollongong and Newcastle.

The regional areas are participating local government areas which are located outside of the metropolitan area. By government regulation effective from 16 March 2012, the Byron local government area is declared to be an area for which the regional relocation grant is not available. This regulation will apply to any purchase which commenced on or after 16 March 2012. Purchase prior to that date may still qualify.

More about the Regional Relocation Grant (Links)

Eligibility Requirements

Regional Relocation Grant factsheet and printable application form

Frequently asked questions

Council and Regional Relocation Grant area locator

Regional Relocation (Home Buyers Grant) Act 2011